A great playoff run for a host of former Tigers playing in college.

With dozens of former Northport Tigers playing college lacrosse it's no wonder that many former Tigers are preparing for post-season play, winning conference championships and/or getting ready for making a deep run into the NCAA Playoffs.

Austin Henningsen (Northport 2015) and his Maryland Terrapins just won the Big Ten Championship and are the #1 seed in the upcoming NCAA Division 1 playoff. Play-in winner at No. 1 Maryland, 2:30 p.m. on ESPNU

UPDATE: Austin Henningsen and his Maryland Terrapins won the 2017 national championship. This makes it 2 years in-a-row that a former Tiger won a Division 1 national championship -- joining North Carolina's Bran Cannon

John Glancy (Northport 2013) and his Albany Great Dane's just defeated Sean Gilroy (Northport 2013) and his Binghamton Bearcats in the America East Conference Championship this past weekend. Glancy had a goal and an assist in the championship game. Albany takes the AE's automatic qualifier and the #8 seed into the NCAA Division 1 playoffs. The Dane's are deep, dangerous and poised to make a deep run.

Q: Who will Albany face?

A: Brain Cannon (Northport 2014) and his North Carolina Tar Heels. With a losing record and their back against the wall, defending National champ UNC took the ACC conference championship after defeating Syracuse and Notre Dame -- earning themselves an "at-large" bid to the big dance. Cannon netted a key goal against Syracuse in the ACC semis. North Carolina at No. 8 Albany, 7:30 p.m. on ESPNU

Brett Hall's (Northport 2014) Towson Tigers won the CAA, its AQ and will face #7 Penn State in the first round of the NCAA's. Hall gets his 3rd CAA championship ring with the win over UMASS in the CAA title game. Towson at No. 7 Penn State, noon on ESPNU

While Navy did not make the NCAA tournament field, team captain, John Trainor (Northport 2013) did qualify for the Patriot League conference playoffs -- falling to Holy Cross in the first round.

Jack Pace (Northport 2013) and the Merrimack Warriors take their #3 seed to Syracuse to face #2 LeMoyne in the Quarter-Finals of the NCAA Division 2 playoff. A trip to Foxborough could be in his future.

Jake Carrol (Northport 2015), Nick Deceglia (Northport 2013) and Travis Mauro (Northport 2014) and the Plattsburgh Cardinals won their first-ever SUNYAC championship when they beat perennial-power SUNY Cortland (#4 nationally) for the first time in 22 tries. Mauro helped the Cardinals dominate at the face-off "X", Deceglia chipped in an assist in the semi-finals and Carroll had 3 goals in the championship game and was named to the SUNYAC the All-Tournament team.

Scott Hatch (Northport 2015) is having a remarkable year in the cage for Franklin & Marshall -- most recently with 14 saves against Gettysburg in the Centennial Conference Championship. The Diplomats won 9-8 in overtime and take a #12 seed into the Division 3 playoffs.

While the Ithaca Bombers lost to Nazareth in the EMPIRE 8 Conference Playoffs, Cody Swing's (Northport 2013) outstanding play was acknowledged with a spot on the All-Tournament team. Swing forced a game-high four caused turnovers and corralled six ground-balls in the semi-final match-up.

In the NJCAA, four former Tigers --- Mike Trainor (Northport 2015; Committed to NYIT), Anthony Deceglia (Northport 2015), Shaun Napolitano (Northport 2015; Committed to Monmouth University) and Jack Sullivan (Northport 2015), helped 4th-ranked Nassau Community College win their regional championship and quarter-final match-up to earn a bid to the NJCAA Final Four in Syracuse this weekend. NCC is looking to claim its 22nd national championship when they take on Onondaga at 1:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 20.

UPDATE: While Nassau fell to eventual national champion, Onondaga in the semi-finals, former Tiger and NCC's Shaun Napolitano was named a 2017 NJCAA All-American, and All-Region All-Star, and he will be attending Division 1 Monmouth University in the fall. Northport and NCC teammate, Anthony Deceglia was also named to the All-Region team.

Former Tigers are also making their mark in the MCLA. Darryl Robinson (Northport 2015) and Northeastern University won the Pioneer Collegiate Lacrosse League Division I championship. Northeastern enters the national tournament as a No. 14 seed and will face No. 3 Colorado on Monday, May 13 in the MCLA national playoffs.

The 2017 year has been a prosperous one for many of the former Northport Tigers currently playing college lacrosse. While the above players have stretched their 2017 season beyond this past weekend, we should note that 10+ more former Northport Tigers significantly contributed to their Division 1, 2, and 3 team's success -- continuing a fine tradition of playing and succeeding after Northport.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts